Board of Directors:

The Board of Directors consists of seven members. Director appointments come from the Federal, Provincial and Municipal governments. The remaining four appointments are made by the Minister of Transport with input from the Port Advisory Nominating Committee.

The Port Advisory Nominating Committee consists of seven members selected by businesses within the four “User Group” categories as stipulated in the Port Authority’s Letters Patent.

The Board is responsible for the management of the activities of the Authority. The Board of Directors hires a President/CEO to manage the day-to-day administrative and operational activities of the Port. The Port Authority is mandated to be ‘self-sufficient’, while satisfying the needs of users at a reasonable cost; maintaining a high level of safety and environmental protection; and managing the marine infrastructure and services in a commercial manner.

Ron Crema

Board of Director

Term: May 21, 2019 - Jun 20, 2021

Mr. Crema has over 25 years of experience in the distribution sector. Since April 2010, he has worked independently as a distribution and change management consultant. For nearly 20 previous years he was manager of distribution for Canadian paper manufacturers: Catalyst Paper, NorskeCanada and Pacifica Papers Inc.


During his tenure as a director with PAPA Mr. Crema has been active in assisting the Port pursue growth of its core business units and achieving the development of the proposed Port Alberni Trans-shipment Hub (“PATH”). He currently holds the post of Chair of the Board as elected by his fellow directors.

Ken McRae


Term: Jul 01, 2018 - Jun 30, 2021

Following time spent as a City Councilor Ken McRae became Mayor of Port Alberni in 2001. He served his community dutifully in this role through 2011. McRae had been active in a variety of community and industrial development initiatives such as being a director on the Island Corridor Foundation, President of the Labour Council and executive of the Paperworkers Council.


Mr. McRae currently holds the post of Vice Chair of the Board as elected by his fellow directors.

Allan Haggard

Board of Director

Term: Jun 25, 2020 - Jun 24, 2022

Mr. Haggard has a vast array of construction experience with a number of marine and industrial-related projects. Examples of such projects include:


• Development of new container terminal at Centerm in Vancouver
• Installation of site services for Vancouver Ship Yard in North Vancouver
• Construction of a Reef Point Marina in Port Moody


Throughout his career in construction management Mr. Haggard has liaised with Ministry of Environment, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, First Nations, Coast Guard and various municipal officials.

Dennis Jonsson

Board of Director

Term: Jun 25, 2020 - Jun 24, 2022

Mr. Jonsson is a well-known Port Alberni businessman, having owned a General Motors dealership for 27 years. During his involvement with the dealership Mr. Jonsson led the construction of a larger, new facility that is still operating today and served as a director on the General Motors British Columbia Marketing Advisory Board. He was actively involved in a number of community volunteer activities such as:


• 20 years’ experience with Sproat Lake Fire Department
• City of Port Alberni Harbour Quay Committee
• BC Assessment Court of Revision
• Alberni Valley Chamber of Commerce

Shelley Chrest


Term: Sep 07, 2018 - Sep 06, 2021

Ms. Chrest is a seasoned lawyer with expertise in dispute resolution and mediation with experience understanding complex legislation and strategic policy. She is also greatly involved in our community. Highlights of her current community involvement include:


• Director of the Alberni Valley Hospice Society
• Member of the Alberni-Clayoquot Advisory Planning Committee
• Vice-Chair of the National News Media Council


Additionally, Ms. Chrest has been the Chair of the BC Press Council; Co-Chair of the Provincial Child Care Council; and Director of West Coast LEAF.

Cynthia Dick

Board of Director

Term: Oct 24, 2018 - Oct 24, 2021

Ms. Dick is the Chief Councillor of the Tseshaht First Nation since her appointment to that role in 2016. She brings her vision to continue the work of creating a brighter future for the community and future generations. Ms. Dick believes that through more community engagement she will be able to work towards common goals and visions on behalf of Tseshaht people. As the proud mother of a young daughter she holds value in creating a better place for future generations as her highest motivation.


In addition to her cultural and professional perspectives, Ms. Dick’s formal education includes a degree in Sociology and Psychology and Certificate in Management Skills for Supervisors from Vancouver Island University which contributes a unique perspective to board discussions.

Jeff Cook

Board of Director

Term: Sep 09, 2018 - Aug 09, 2021

Mr. Cook is very well-known in Port Alberni and throughout the region for his work on behalf of the Huu-ay-aht First Nations and as a volunteer for many community groups. Some highlights of Mr. Cook’s success and community involvement includes:


• Elected Chief Councillor of the Huu-ay-aht First Nations (2011-2015)
• Creating a positive working relationship and development of a Protocol Agreement between the Huu-ay-aht First Nations and PAPA to collaborate on the development of the proposed Port Alberni Transshipment Hub (PATH)
• Negotiating an agreement with Steelhead LNG to explore an LNG plant and shipping port within Huu-ay-aht First Nations’ Treaty Settlement Lands
• Recording Secretary, Port Alberni Toy Run Society
• Director, Alberni Community Women’s Society

Management :


Zoran Knezevic

President / CEO

Mike Carter

Director of Operations

Leslie Martin

Director of Finance

Dave McCormick

Director Public Relations & Business Development

Cecilia Addy

Manager Marina Services

Bianca Filipchuk

Manager of Administration and Properties

Dianna Stubbs

Administrative Operations Manager

Heather Newton

Corporate Secretary

Staff :

Nick Bordeleau

Marina Coordinator

Jen Bortolotto

Marina Coordinator

Brenda Caldwell

Marina Attendant

Michael Charlesworth

Facilities Attendant

Angie Taylor

Marina Coordinator